Old Victoria Outfitters clothing geared toward relaxed lifestyles

As you may have noticed, men’s fashion is not something I have touched on much in the last few years.

The truth is that this is not my area of expertise. The majority of my experience with men’s clothing relates to T-shirts and shorts with the occasional dress shirt and tie.

The irony of it all is that I’ve had numerous male friends and colleagues approach me over the last few years and ask me to write a column about men’s clothing option here in Victoria.

Most recently, a good friend of mine sent me a text and made two very interesting suggestions for column topics: men’s clothing and purses designed to accommodate beverage bags for wine. As much as I fully support the concept of the latter, I decided it was time to “man-up” and face the former.

My first thought was “Where do I start?” There are a few obvious choices in town, but I really preferred not to go with any place that everyone already knew right off the bat.

Coincidentally, at about the same time, I received an email from Old Victoria Outfitters inviting me to stop by the store and check it out. Two birds, one stone. It sounded like a plan to me.

I knew nothing about this shop except that it was formerly the Atzenhoffer Proshop on Navarro Street. I will admit that before I walked in, I had it in my mind that this shop would be more specialty items than anything else. You know, things only useful if you are actually going fishing or hunting.

I could not have been more wrong.

Old Victoria Outfitters has a ton of fun stuff, both practical and slightly less practically for men and women of any age. As far as clothing goes, everything is pretty casual and most definitely geared toward a relaxed lifestyle. From fishing-style shirts to caps to sunglasses to flip-flops, they have pretty much anything you could need at reasonable prices and easier to find than wandering around Academy.

I was thrilled that they had Reef flip-flops. I have consistently worn Reefs since high school, and they are my personal recommendation for comfortable and durable flops, which are an absolute requirement for South Texas summers.

In fact, I have a very specific pair of flip-flops in mind that are in desperate need of an upgrade.

Clothes and accessories aside, what I liked the most about Old Victoria Outfitter was the gift options. They had a ton of practical gift ideas like Yeti Coolers and Waterloo Rods, as well as a ton of not-as-practical-but-way-more-fun gift ideas such as tumblers, flasks, koozies, candles and Bottle Freakers (I swear that’s what they are called).

My personal favorite was the Freaker Feet socks. Seriously, who does not want a pair of lime green socks with a unicorn sitting on a corn cob that says “Unicorn on the Cob?”

Ultimately, I bought a couple of koozies that I thought would make great gifts for a few friends.

What I really wanted, though, was a teepee. Yes, an actual teepee. It was almost as tall as me and would make a perfect hideout for my dogs. A second trip may be required. I’ll keep you posted.

About dealmannz

DealMan is a one shop stop for all the fashion lovers as we offer a wide range of options of clothing for men and women both.
This entry was posted in Angry Customers, Deal Man, Deal Man Unhappy Customers, Dealman, Dealman reviews, Dealman Unhappy Customers, How To Deal With Unhappy Customers, Shopping, Unhappy Clients, Unhappy Customers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

